Steam Engine Building (Mosque)
The “Mosque” of Potsdam
The Steam Engine Building (Dampfmaschinenhaus), located on a bay of the Havel River called the Neustädter Havelbucht, is at once the most charming and one of the most exotic buildings in Potsdam. It is also a remarkable architectural example of a functional industrial building from the early 19th century. Frederick William IV, the “Romantic on the throne,” had Ludwig Persius construct Prussia’s most beautiful power plant from 1841–43, resulting in the only pump station created in a Moorish style. The building, which at that time could still be seen from Sanssouci Palace, set a picturesque and architectural accent in Potsdam’s cultural landscape.
In October 1842 the steam engine in the “Mosque” (capable of 81.4 hp) went into operation for the first time, sending a jet of water in the Great Fountain in front of Sanssouci Palace soaring to an impressive height of 38 meters. August Borsig, who was still a young entrepreneur, had built for Prussia the most powerful machine of its time, allowing King Frederick William IV to compete with the technical supremacy of England.
Although water supply to the fountains in Sanssouci Park is now carried out by modern electric pumps, visitors to the “Mosque” can marvel at technical ingenuity of the past that is still in use – a fascination shared by young and old alike.
Steam Engine Building (Mosque) [Dampfmaschinenhaus (Moschee)]
Breite Straße 28
How to get there
Stop "Potsdam, Feuerbachstr."
Open every first Sunday from May to October,
10 am–5.30pm, last admission 5pm.
Can be viewed with a guided tour.
incl. guided tour
Price : 4.00 reduced : 3.00
Schloss Charlottenhof / Römische Bäder / Chinesisches Haus / Dampfmaschinenhaus
Postfach 60 14 62
SPSG | Visitor's Information
Visitor's Center at the Historic Windmill in Sanssouci Park
An der Orangerie 1
Visitor's Center at the New Palace in Sanssouci Park
Am Neuen Palais 3
Phone: +49 (0) 331.96 94-200
SPSG | Gruppenservice
contact form for booking requests
Phone: 0331.96 94-222
Fax: 0331.96 94-107
Unfortunately, the exhibition rooms are not accessible for wheelchair users.
For conservation reasons, it is unfortunately not possible to use prams / baby strollers in the exhibition rooms.
Please note: No luggage or baggage may be left in the entrance area of the palace for security and safety reasons.
Unfortunately, there are no facilities for storing larger pieces of luggage or similar baggage on the premises of this historical site. We appreciate your understanding.
A limited number of lockers are available for smaller pieces of baggage (up to 35 x 35 x 50 cm) in Glienicke Palace.